Home Advisor Pro Review: What You NEED to Know

what you need to know blog lettering

Home Advisor PRO is an easy way to start growing your business right away.  However, it’s a very controversial subject with contractor’s.  Some businesses are experiencing massive success with the service while others trash talk it to no end and describe it as a scam.

Should you use the service for your handyman business?  Good question.

In this post, I’m going to discuss the controversial issues surrounding Home Advisor as well as the pros and cons.  I’ll also share my experience and some tips for maximizing ROI with the service formerly known as ServiceMagic.

Why the Controversy?

Issue #1:

At the time of writing this article, they had 575 closed complaints with the Better Business Bureau.  Despite the fact that they have an A+ rating, that’s still a lot of complaints.

This doesn’t bother me considering the fact they have been in business for so long and when you deal with as many customers as they do, you are going to have complaints.  It’s just the way it is.

Issue #2:

Several contractor’s and handymen have found out the hard way that Home Advisor actively builds links in their business’s name pointing back to Home Advisor.  Not only does HA build links back to their own site in the small business’s name, but they also list HA’s phone number.

So, if you sign up for HA, you are giving them the right to use any information on your profile to actively direct people back to their service!  I couldn’t believe it myself until I read their terms of service and then did a quick google of my business name.

Sure enough, I found that my YP.com listing had all of my business information, but the wrong phone number.  Upon dialing that number, I was connected with Home Advisor!  Wow.  Not only that, but they spelled my business name wrong.

Have you ever received an exact match lead?  Then the same thing is likely happening to you.

This is a pretty big issue for me and it definitely hurts Home Advisor’s image in my eyes.  Although it is clearly explained in their terms of service, this is not something they explained when I signed up.  It’s a little deceptive.

However, this issue can me mitigated by simply doing some cleanup work online.  I’m actively seeking these listings out and changing them to reflect my business’s correct information.

One thing I recommend doing before signing up for HA is creating your own online listings.  By doing so you reduce the risk of this happening to you.

Issue #3

Home Advisor recently changed their name from Service Magic.  Why?

Many say that it’s to hide from their bad reputation.  I mean, why else would you throw away years of building a well known brand?

Taken from the Home Advisor Website:  “We changed our name to reflect our commitment to being the #1 resource for home improvement tips, advice and connections.”

I have to admit, it’s a much better name and it will help them resonate with home owners.  They are now branding themselves as an advisor which is more authoritative than just  a magical service provider.

Whether or not they have a good reason to change their name, it still looks bad to those who have had a negative experience working with HA.

The Pros and Cons of Home Advisor

Pros

  • It’s effective.  There’s one majore reason that HA is still in business and that is because it works.  With more and more people turning to the web to find service providers, having a strong online presence is critical.  Home Advisor has an incredibly strong web presence. 
  • Good for new businesses.  Before you can start getting word of mouth business, you need to actually have customers.  HA allows you to leverage their brand to gain trust and get your first clients.  It also allows you to reach customers that you otherwise wouldn’t have the marketing abilities or funds to reach.
  • Easy to manage.  Once you’ve set up your account, it’s very easy to manage.  You can even turn your leads on and off whenever you choose.  This allows you to only use the service when you are slow or trying to expand your business.

Cons

  • Giving up some rights to your brand.  In the terms of service, it clearly states that HA can use any information on your profile to direct links to their site.  This essentially allows them to use your name to promote their business.
  • Bad leads.  I’ve received several leads that were just people price shopping with no interest of actually hiring anybody.  Sometimes, leads won’t even answer the phone.  In some cases a refund will be granted, but I’ve still paid for several bad leads.
  • Can get expensive.  Leads for bigger jobs are expensive and often cost more than $50.  However, for a handyman this isn’t as much of an issue as we usually only sign up for small job leads.

Should You Use Home Advisor?

If you have been reading my monthly reports or have signed up for my newsletter, you probably know that I recommend using HA as a way to jump start your handyman business.

I still believe that it’s very effective and have personally had success using the service.  In my first year of business, I spent $1,152 advertising with HA and gained $4,425 in business directly from leads received.  That doesn’t include the amount of business I received from referrals and return business from these leads.  HA obviously played a significant role in the success of my first year.

However, I don’t agree with some of their marketing tactics, namely how they use a companies name to direct leads back to their website.  This bothers me, but it’s clearly stated in the terms so I can’t be pissed off.  It was my decision to use their services.

That being said, I still view HA as an effective tool to grow a new handyman business and will continue to inform handymen of it’s existence.  Whether or not it’s right for you, that’s something you’ll have to decide.

Quick Tips to Maximize ROI

If you do decide to use HA to grow your business, here are some insights that I’ve gained that will help you close more leads and make more money.

#1:  Call leads immediately

This is the single most important factor to making HA work for you, even more so than having good reviews.  I’ve found that 9 times out of 10, if I call within minutes of receiving the lead, I get the business.  Some customers have even told me that they always choose the first person that calls.

#2:  Only sign up for small job leads

Leads for big jobs are expensive at $50 and up.  With price shoppers all over the place, this can eat into your profits really fast.  Thats why I recommend only signing up for leads for jobs under $15.  You will still get your foot in the door and can bank on the return business.

#3:  Eliminate leads that don’t pay

After you’ve been using the service for a while, it’s a good idea to go back over your leads and see which categories pay off and which one’s provide mostly junk leads.  I did this in April of last year and was amazed at the results.

What are your thoughts on Home Advisor?  Please share in the comments below!

Like what you're reading? Sign up for Updates
...and get a FREE REPORT!
FREE REPORT REVEALS:

"3 Common Handyman Business Mistakes (And How To Avoid Them)"

Learn why some handyman businesses THRIVE while others STRUGGLE.
  • Tim March 20, 2013

    I got listed on Angie’s List early on, and that provided some leads, though I must say they are a mixed bag. There is nothing like real word-of-mouth. When I get that, new clients trust me right away, and I can usually trust them based on the referral.

    I wouldn’t even THINK of signing up with Service Magic or any of those types of services. You are better off posting a flyer in the kinds of stores you go to, which will lead you to the kind of people you will get along with.

    Early on, a friend asked me what percentage of jobs you go out to look at really turn into work. I’d never thought of it before. I paused before I said “All of them,” because I had never considered that they wouldn’t all turn into work. Then came Google Local Business, a free listing based on my area. Phone calls increased somewhat do that, and it was helpful, but I was spending more time on the phone and a then I, only occasionally, had visits that didn’t turn into work.

    When I was able to change my phone message to say that I wasn’t taking new clients except those referred by existing clients, it freed up a lot of phone time, and increased the goodness of fit with my customers. There is only one way to get to that point: do impeccable work, don’t overcharge, make sure they know you will come back and fix it for free if something goes wrong. Having a level of expertise that they will call you first for everything in their home helps, too.

    Signing up for Service Magic is like contracting for Home Depot. Why would anyone who can run a decent business and has a good reputation do installations for Home Depot? Why? Because they can’t find the work themselves. Why? Because they don’t do good work. That is why everyone who has ever used a Home Depot contractor says the same thing: “Never again!”

    Yes, it took a few years until I felt I could depend on the money, and a few more before I was turning away work. It is worth it, though, to have a set of core clients who call me again and again, who depend on me, treat me like one of the family, and call me first.

    • Big D March 20, 2013

      Hi Tim,

      Thanks for your sharing your thoughts. I understand why Home Advisor (Service Magic) wouldn’t be useful to you as you have been in business for a while and have a steady stream of return business already.

      However, for a new business that needs to get their name out there, Home Advisor does a great job at that. period. You may deal with some bad leads along the way, but that’s better than not having the phone ring at all. Additionally, you can still build the same long term relationship with these customers that you have built with yours, just faster.

      I’ve been running my handyman business for a little over a year now and have the proof that Home Advisor is effective. If it’s not for you, I understand. But I don’t appreciate you saying that Handymen who use Home Advisor do lower quality work than those that don’t. Sure, there are many bad handymen using HA, but to say that advertising with HA makes you less of a handyman, that’s just not true.

      Big D

      • BroC April 19, 2014

        Just a thought on the New businesses. When I started I went out and charged less then the going rates for the first year. I found the high end shop of materials in my area and offered to do installs, resurface, etc. at around 40% less, and instructed all this would be for my first year only. I found that the Doctors/ Lawyers/ Business CEO’s/ etc. who are well known in my community would go to the high end shops to get their materials, and once I proved my expertise in my work the word was out that first year in business. I went from 8k gross 1st year to 17k, the second, 34k the third, over 70k in the 4th, and over 100 after the 5th if I recall correctly. In other words, if one is as excellent in service, ethics, craftsmanship, etc. then no need to pay others to show your work of services, just give the local high end shop your portfolio and go to their clients with the discount of work you perform acknowledging that it is a limited time offer, once all their colleague’s see your work the phone will ring off hook as your prices climb as you get busier. Have to say, I knew my experience in my services are above average and have been blessed in life to have mastered my trade and service. I am still learning though, and anyone that state they know it all, stay away from them including those that pedal services like Service Magic/ Home Advisor/ Angie’s List/ etc. Good Luck to all that are beginning, it is quite the ride;0)

    • andrew May 9, 2015

      If you cant find value in being able to target specific type of jobs in specific geographical areas down to tbe zip code then you are completely clueless and should shut your business down. The membership is 287.99 for 12 months. Translation; $.79 a day for a 24/7 billboard for your company online listed on 8+ different contractor websites. Good luck with your flyers, oh and how often do you have to knock $ off a projects for your “word of mouth leads#.

      • Dale June 4, 2015

        I understand local advertisement. It’s important. However society and technology is dictating a new era in social media and online (easy convenience shopping; why wait when I can get it now mentality) Let’s look at your discount. You just decreased and average price per job by 40% right of your normal charge. Let’s say the job would have been $200 normally well you just worked for $110 to do the same job ie…you just spent $90 to work ONE customer. A traditional LEAD fee for a handyman is around $15. That would range you around SIX new (potential customers) if you are as good as you say…you could get at least ONE new customer out of the 6 and still profit the $110. However, you just had the shot at SIX new customers. Not just ONE. for a potential gain of $200 per customer and a profit of $1200 rather than just $110.
        You pay for advertising in one form or another whether it is time beating the streets or money on the paper to walk the streets. Advertising is essential. It’s all a matter of how much you can AFFORD to do! and control it at the same time!!! Good luck to all Businesses! We appreciate all your hard work!

    • Emily Goodfriend August 20, 2015

      HomeAdvisors is nothing but a scam! As a former small business owner I strongly encourage consumers NOT to use this service. They scam small businesses and have many red flags that need to come to service. HomeAdvisors does take the time to “validate” a company to post on its resources. However, they don’t work for the small businesses like they say they do, and they are only puppeteers to consumers. They consumers’ marketing trends to rip off these businesses. They make it to where the small business gives them access to a bank account and they continue to withdraw money from the accounts without a reasonable invoice or even explanation. This is not a fair company and I strongly recommend that we go away from these here one day gone the next .com agencies that only have fancy websites, someone to answer a phone, and a way to take money. Also to consumers, they do not care if you make a match at all. They do not put your needs first when they “match” you with someone. It is a scam. Please don’t use and pass it on to others in the industry. Go back to using word of mouth or a quick google search of your own. These guys need to go down!

  • Raleigh Handyman March 20, 2013

    Good tips here. I would add one additional item. Anyone in the home service industry would gain long term if they put in place a system to stay in connection with past clients. As repeat business and referrals are the best source of new business any company can have.

    • Big D March 20, 2013

      That’s a really great tip. Thanks!

    • Dale June 4, 2015

      There are programs that can help you with this system…Ie MHELP Desk Software. This program can help you manage present and future customers easily. And reminds you of your past customers need to be reached out to…Alot more bang for your buck! Good luck guys!

  • Big Red April 26, 2013

    Hi there.

    I am looking to register with the various free online advertising companies but i do not want to use my own address. I read that using a PO BOX will not work or you can get penalized for it.

    Have you any suggestions on this. Did you use your own address. Would you worry about bad customers showing up to your home.

    Thanks

    • Big D April 30, 2013

      Hi Big Red,

      I recommend getting a mailbox at a local UPS store or other mailbox rental service. This is what I did as I don’t want customers to know where I live. It looks like a real address, too instead of just a PO Box.

      It costs about $120 every six months and is well worth the cost. I don’t recommend getting a PO Box, however. A PO box looks less professional to customers and possibly google.

      I actually wrote a post on this here: http://www.handymanstartup.com/5-reasons-to-get-a-handyman-business-address/

      Big D

      • BroC April 19, 2014

        I have a shop with an address, so not worry about customers showing up since I no longer stay there, just work out of. When I first started business though, I stayed lived there. I would get phone calls from do it your self people looking for supplies cause the ran out on there projects. I would go ahead and help out on the supplies and give them free advise on how to get project completed. They would find out I gave great advise and tell their friends how hard it was for them to do their own Hardwood Floors and tell them about my free advice but consider hiring my services instead, so I got work from helping out those that could not afford my services;0) Just a thought for others!

    • Andrew Polanski July 14, 2014

      You most definitely can get penalized for using a PO box, or even a UPS store as Big D suggested. According to Google’s guidelines (and this is word-for-word):

      “Do not create a page or place your pin marker at a location where the business does not physically exist. P.O. Boxes are not considered accurate physical locations. Your business location should be staffed during its stated hours.”

      One can argue “well my location is staffed with a UPS employee during business hours”, but that doesn’t work with Google. They want it to be staffed by someone from YOUR company.

      The other option is a virtual office, but even then, it’s against Google’s guidelines.

      The correct way with Google is to list your address, but checkmark the box that will allow you to hide your address from being displayed (Google is actually now starting to decide themselves – automatically- on whether they will hide your address).

  • Glen Betts April 30, 2013

    Big D,

    Having recently moved to a different state to be close to my children and grandchildren, I am effectively starting all over. Your comments about HA relieved my mind as I was facing those same issues you mention above as I was beginning to wonder what I was doing wrong.
    In a phone call with their customer service I strongly recommended they set their system up to only let a “client” click on one contractor a day for a specific task instead of hitting three or four and playing the “cheapest route” game.
    I’ve had only two successful leads out of two dozen so far, so I’m not impressed at all, but I’m going to adjust my leads with your suggestions for now to help get my foot in the door locally.

    • Big D April 30, 2013

      Ya, you need to play with it to see which leads are getting you good customers. One category that didn’t pay off for me was the handyman/random tasks or something like that. I got only price shoppers looking for the cheapest option.

      Let me know how it works out for you.

      Big D

    • MR January 18, 2014

      hmm, 2 successes out of 24, thats close to 8% lead to sale. Its not bad IMO. You gotta realize there are other handymen in the industry too and are probably bidding on the same project. So if the consumer wants to go cheap, they’d go with the cheapest option available to them.

      I think in general handymen are not very business savvy .. businesses run on numbers. Not everyone walking through the door will be a buyer. But overtime you will see a trend where a given % of those who walk through the door will be buyers. And it all depends on how much you get out there.

      Like D said, if you are starting out, your first 2 years are crucial .. you pick up jobs, do em cheap if you have to, do em well, and make sure you get repeat business and referrals from them.

  • Maria June 3, 2013

    I am not sure about the process of homeadvisor can you please explain me. What do you means by Lead???

    • Big D June 4, 2013

      A lead is basically a job opportunity with a specific customer. When somebody goes to HomeAdvisor looking for home services, they fill out their information and the type of work they’re looking to have done.

      Home Advisor then sends that information (the customers name, phone number, address, and job needs) to 3 service providers. These 3 service providers can then contact the customer and try to get the job.

      When I say call the lead immediately, I’m referring to the customer who is looking for help with their home.

  • Eric June 7, 2013

    Big D!!! This is an awesome article but I thought you were way to lenient on Home Advisor. Glenn mentioned above that consumers should only be able to post one job request per day. That is a good idea but the problem is on the backend, HA shares every lead they get with as many prospective sellers as they possibly can. This causes three things to happen. First, the consumer ends up getting bombarded with calls IF they gave a real phone number so they get annoyed. More importantly, the contractors paying $50 for the lead are competing with each other right out of the gate. Third, HA get rich by reselling leads, annoying consumers and having their clients compete for jobs that very rarely close. I also didn’t realize that they require access to profile info AND placed their phone numbers and links on their clients’ profile pages. Thanks for sharing this. I’m going to advise some of my clients of this that are still using these guys. I can’t believe these guys have built a billion $ business operating this way but I am thankful because how we solve this problem is so fair in comparison.

    • Big D June 9, 2013

      Eric,

      Thanks for the comment. However, I have no evidence or have seen nothing to suggest that HA sends the leads out to as many people as possible. According to their claims, they send regular leads to 3 home service providers and no more.

      As for the issue with the customers getting bombarded, that’s why it’s so important to call first. As long as you aren’t rude or aggressive and are simply trying to help the customer, I don’t think this will have any negative affect on your branding.

      Big D

      • Craig May 6, 2014

        I’ve spoken to a few friends who used Home Advisor or Service Magic (previous name) and while they were told only 3 contractors would be given a lead, in reality they saw up to as many as NINE others shared the same lead.

      • Jeanne July 23, 2014

        We have been using HA for several years now and in the beginning it did pay off. Right now I have suspended our leads because we are way too busy with work from word of mouth and other avenues. I do agree with Eric that HA sends more than 3 out per job because we have encountered this numerous times. We also have experienced contractors being sent out that are not qualified or experienced in the work that we do. They under cut us and then 6 months later they are calling us to repair the work that the other contractor messed up. This happens quite frequently. Right now we are booked out with work until October and are researching different lead generating companies instead of HA.

  • Ravis August 13, 2013

    Thanks for the great article. I have been using HA since 2007….glad I did when the crash hit in 2008 is AZ!!!! Yes I get some price Checkers and bad leads but over all the only business for 4 years came thru them. I win 2 out of 3 contracts all the time. I also ‘cleaned’ sites to my number as you did. Now I have a client base and still get leads. In the design business every drafter out there now does side work and HA is one way to continue to show them up.

    • BroC April 19, 2014

      Sounds like one needs two different names of business, one to register with HA for their leads and the other so HA can not override your business name/numbers with theirs. Have to say, that is enough for me to never do business with HA.

      • Dale June 4, 2015

        Incorrect and Mythical and creating slander. Home Advisor does NOT sell leads. And ONLY send the leads to a MAXIMUM of 4 contractors. However, there are companies who home advisor cannot control that take the leads and re-sell them. You have to offer equal opportunity to ALL businesses and not discriminate. Home advisor can only screen if the business is trying to represent a business that is willing to market and advertise with them. STOP making Home advisor the bad guy. Home advisor can regulate fraud and when they find out that it’s happening legal actions are taken. But it is not made into a PUBLIC spectacle for all to know about. Can you then discredit Home advisor? Truth to the lie. Thanks I wish you all the clients and customers in the world

  • Jeff Richard Morrison August 25, 2013

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & help other customers
    like its helped me. Great job.

  • carpet cleaner Potton November 8, 2013

    Great blog you hav here.. It’s difficult to find
    excellent writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  • kemccull256 November 12, 2013

    Its not necessarily what HomeAdvisors does, its what the lie to you that they don’t do. They will lie to you about what exact match is and what they do to attract exact match leads. they will basically steal your market identity then feed it back to you at 150% of a market match lead. In other words, they will insert (somehow, I dont know how) their contact info in seemingly every place you have contact info for you company. So, anyone that looks you up gets their contact info. So rather than contact you directly, they contact HomeAdvisor. Then HA bills you 150% of the market match price for this. If you have paused your leads, you dont get the info.

    Its not what they do, its what they lie to you to get your business. this is fraudulent. And needs to be reported. Oh, by the way, now they have a “listing” that clients can review and call you directly. For $30 per month flat. No choice. Ask them to produce what this is? they cant. Another rip off.

    this needs to be report to you state Attorney General.

    • Gabe Kis November 17, 2013

      Your 100 percent correct. Companies like this are destabilizing the economy with their propaganda. It’s only good for them and their day is
      coming real soon . They are being investigated and a stoke of a pen in a reputable paper will go national once the AP gets ahold of it.

  • Gabe Kis November 17, 2013

    FTC and FBI complaints were filed in NYC against Home Advisor and ehardhat of Woburn Mass. Ehardhat steals business identities extracts commerce across state lines via the Internet. It lists business names with photos and bios without the business owners consent and redirects the calls to Home Advisor. It’s false advertisment,fraud, fraud by deception. Both companies simulate relationships with companies that they have absolutely no affiliation with to lure the consumer into their vast network. Liutenant Weston checked out ehardhat and said it looks like they left in the middle of the night. Prosecutor Casey Silvia located the owner Fabio Espindula and he claims he is still in business with nearly 3 million contractors
    In his network. Leads are generated falsely and sold to Home Advidor. The consumer feels duped and won’t pick up the phone. Contractors credit cards are charged weekly. I smell a rat and media exposure coming real soon . The complaint was filed by renowned celebrity contractor Gabe Kis.

  • Gabe Kis November 17, 2013

    Big D ,
    The previous comment is correct. Contractors are recruited by Home Advisor via Crsigslist. They are told that consumers contact HA. That’s a blatant lie. All my ratings with Service Majic were 5 stars. When I bailed is when they switched to Home Advisor and jacked up their fees by 80 percent. I’m not paying that kind of money for worthless leads . HA refuses to let their contractors leave. They keep wanting to update credit card info and also strong arm contractors into paying for leads they did not turn on.
    They turned me into collections and then dropped it when I threatened to go public. I was clearly under the impression the Home owners
    Contact HA. Look at the bottom of your invoice. It clearly says
    helping you build your business 1 homeowner at a time. Home Advidor formerly Service Majic has about 84,000 contractors in its network after 13 years. They now fraudulently get there leads from ehardhat
    Phony directory that boasts it has 2.800.000 contractors in their network
    With all the calls going to HA. It’s called Fraud. Ask reporter Amy Woodward
    at the Golden Transcript in Colorado why the CEO Chris Terrell of HA
    paid her editor a visit to squash the story. Going to an attorney is a waste of money. Home Advisors business practices need to be made public.
    That’s what they don’t want. They make money out of lies and
    steal money from working people’s credit cards weekly. I have an excellent reputation and HA is a company that is an online thug. Get a piece of all the action. It needs to be regulated by Federal authorities. Time to call the BUNKO SQUAD.

    • BroC April 19, 2014

      Filing with your attorney general is free and a help to weed out Companies like HA!!! Sometimes the Attorney General will do a class action suit where one can be compensated for damages along with others that businesses like HA damaged!!

  • CAS December 29, 2013

    I just signed up and will give it a try for a couple weeks but if I decide to stop the service, will HA still have rights to all my company links as you say is in their contract? And to top that off…I never received anything written from them stating their terms???

    • Dan Perry December 30, 2013

      I’m not sure whether they will still have rights or not. You do have the ability to clean them up yourself and correct the info at anytime, though.

      • Dale June 4, 2015

        I’m sorry but, I have to put the truth to the lie…HOW can HA steal an account linked information to your ONLINE presence? You have accounts and advertising with So called reputable advertising sources that you have access to and PAY them to advertise your business. HOW does home advisor get into YOUR account. NOT POSSIBLE. Home advisor. has an exact match # on your profile for the TOP 3 spots that consumer can call and be directed to you as an EXACT MATCH LEAD. Other companies who take information off of the web can extract and information from anywhere…ie…Manta, Yelp and have our number listed on a FREE listing that was taken from ANY source…and so on. Home advisor use your profile information to gain your company additional visibility and direct customer to you and pays for SEO based on key words in your profile to BOOST Your BRAND and NAME Recoginiton. Truth to the lie

        • Dan Perry June 8, 2015

          Read their terms of service, Dale. It says it all right there. And, this is not a lie. They actually used my business name and signed up for a directory that I hadn’t signed up for yet, with my business name and their phone number.

          I didn’t write this article to bring down Home Advisor or make them the bad guy, I did it to simply educate others to make a good decision. In fact, if you actually read the article, you’d see that I actually recommend the service.

  • jana March 3, 2014

    kemccull256 is correct. I just got off the phone with a customer service rep at HA. Their sales rep flat out lied to me in his initial phone call, neglected to tell me about “auto accept” and I am being billed for leads that I declined. Ironically, our company happens to be remodeling the home of an FTC attorney :)

    • Dan Perry March 4, 2014

      Sorry to hear that Jana and thanks for sharing it here on the blog. Let me know how that ends up working out for you!

  • Dave King March 5, 2014

    Got another call from an HA “telemarketer” last night. I’ve talked with these guys/gals off and on for the last three years, even before the name change.

    Funny thing about this call compared to the one in December 2013: the “agent” politely apologized for calling me, noticing that his records revealed HA had not recently received any requests for window cleaners in my area. The person who called last time mentioned nothing about that and was actually a bit rude when I said I was not interested in working with HA.

    Dave

  • Robert March 6, 2014

    Hello, home advisor has , and is servicing me well, there’s always something about anything you might not like, there’s some customers who may not like your work, but that doesn’t mean everybody feels that way, good day

    • BroC April 19, 2014

      What is your Position at HA Robert? I can see that HA needs to get people they have on their Payroll out and about to squash the real thoughts of their services!

  • Amy March 21, 2014

    I have to say home advisor also known as service magic is a true scam. You would think since the service
    Professional
    Pays to keep this thing in business they would defend you when you have an unhappy customer, think again! I also know for a fact they do not do a fu
    Check of your business as they state to help ease the mind of homeowners as I am off that. After spending thousands in advertising with home advisor, we received two bad customer complaints, mind you out of hundreds of leads , dropped us like a bad habit. Went to rejoin with our new company name and two years later I called about something and saw my cell phone number associated with the old account and they dropped the new company. Who are these people and company? They need to be stopped and service professionals and consumers beware! You can do
    The homework yourself and switch to Angie’s list! They double dip on leads they give that are supposed to be exclusive! I understand not eveyone is going to be happy but if I could help just one person stay away from
    This scam company I am happy! They have bad reviews all over the Internet and anyone who likes them
    Does not fully understand the way they work but you will find out as I liked them once as well until you need them to defend you, their customer as a service professional!

  • vince March 24, 2014

    Truly a waste of time and money. Tried them as Service Magic as a handyman and only landed one job. Tried them again as Home Advisor and landed zero jobs. Their business model is built on non-verified leads and people looking for free information. Over half of the leads I received had bad contact info. Their CS reps are rude and you have to fight for every lead replacement. I have much better results prospecting leads via my local chamber of commerce, BNI, and other networking groups.

  • Mike April 1, 2014

    Okay i just Got on phone with a representative at home adviser, and he gave me some info on how this Home Adviser Pro Lead program works. I am not sure this is the best fit in Plumbing field. They get less than hundred leads on monthly basis and there are probably 50 and above plumbers listed in the area. So each plumber gets about 2 leads. Now an average lead that a company might get could be even more than that, so what is the reason being listed in their directory? just to get 2 leads? a month? you wont get all the leads and probably you wont even earn the money you paid. I would really recommend having a directory and just letting people add their business there such as Yelp.

    • BroC April 19, 2014

      Excellent evaluation of HA, Angie List, Service Magic to Yelp!!! I have found my customers to put positive on Yelp about my services, so great way to get referrals!!

  • Dan April 9, 2014

    I’m the owner of an AC company in the Phoenix area, after realizing home advisor uses your company name to attract business, I dropped them, they are still using my company information without my permission, and also have a CPM. (Google ad campaign ) using my company information, basically I am competing with Home Advisor for my own name, we are a $1mill company with 35% of our customers coming directly from google, do the math on that! If you are using home advisor, what ever you currently generate from online or organic searches, home advisor gets that same dollar amount using your name! Think about that! We track every lead! I made my third and final call to home advisor, tomorrow I’m going over the initial terms of service, contacting the attorney generals of both states, filing complaints at every outlet possible, including the corporate commissions, I’m then starting with this state, going to research every contractor in my field using Home advisor then personally inform them how it works, what they stand to lose. I informed home advisor for the last time today, I am devoting 100% of my time and I have Two office employees I will have working on this matter when it doesn’t interfere with normal business. If you don’t mind, I would like to post updates on this forum

    • Dan Perry April 10, 2014

      Thanks for sharing, Dan. By all means, please post updates here and let us know how it goes.

    • BroC April 19, 2014

      You might consider also to tell your prospective clients that your competitors use HA (if you know this for a fact), Service Magic, Angie list, etc. and that they need to go online and see how deceptive their practices are through reviews. I bet you will find them wanting your services. Hope you can get HA to cut loose your listings/ phone numbers/ association. What a nightmare. Glad I checked out this site on all, shows one needs to build their own reputable business and not let these internet companies get ahold of your business identity!

  • Phillip Howell April 9, 2014

    I started using ServiceMagic in 2002 and at first it was great, it generated a ton of leads and I was probably at a 90 percent win ratio but over time and as ServiceMagic developed it morphed into a way to rip off contractors andshandyman providers I personally have generated leads to test the quality of leads that I was receiving, I generate a lead as a customer I accepted the lead as the handyman then as the customer I remove the lead and ServiceMagic kept th leade fee. ServiceMagic has always done a poor job of educating their customer on that we the handyman pay a fee for their information they’ve always done a great job of finding ways to collects fees.I was even charged fees from work done by repeat customers that had posted a job to get the competing price quote. I didn’t except the lead so the customer contacted me directly. Servicecmagic did a phone follow up with them. When they found out they had use my company they charged me. Its inthe ttons. So if you are using these people be very mindful of all there charges and fees. They are sneaky.

  • Larry May 2, 2014

    Hmmm… glad I found this info about Home Advisor. I think I will continue to work by word of mouth and local advertising. I am a hard worker, have a lot of experience in many areas, and am told I do very nice work. My wife and I are okay with our lifestyle, even during lean times. I don’t feel the need to get drawn into a less than desirable situation just for a few jobs a year.

    I recently received a call from HA trying to recruit me to their program. I surprised them by pointing out several restrictions specific to Ohio (ie Ohio only licenses “Commercial General Contractors & skilled trades.”) It is instead, local municipalities that register and license “Residential General Contractors.”

    Handymen in my market are REQUIRED to be licensed as such. However, most of the handymen I have talked to in my area are not licensed, bonded, or insured. I advise anyone seeking to do business, especially in my market, to go through the process (And expense) to become licensed. I feel anyone calling themselves a professional should carry those credentials. HA did not seem to know of that requirement here locally.

    I am a licensed, bonded, and insured general contractor serving Upper Arlington, Grandview Heights, and Hilliard, Ohio that specializes in minor home repairs, small renovations, and handyman services. While skilled, I am still always looking to better my abilities, and I actively seek out ways to meet new customers; as is prudent of any small business owner that plans to be successful.

    I know my way around a home and I also have a lot of experience in marketing; I was Recruiter of the Year when I was in the Navy; worked for Sears Home Improvements generating leads and then doing outside sales, when they were in business as well. I am okay with slow growth. I treat customers like family and they spread the word for me. I don’t see that changing.

    Best wishes,

    Larry Spears
    Liebert-Spears, LLC
    General Contractor

    • Mike R March 12, 2015

      Larry,

      I have searched and searched but am unable to find licenses for general residential contracting in Ohio. My electricians and Plumbers are required. Some municipalities require you to be registered, but that just means they want you to have insurance. Is there something I am missing?

  • Daniel May 13, 2014

    Hi Dan and fellow concerned HA and SM marketing people,

    I too, before finding this site, found out that HA had taken my identity and address and put their own ph. #, so what did I do? I copied and pasted their phone # and changed it to my number. It took a little doing, sometimes calling the site and others would send a pin# for you to change the listing and others like Google would send a post card, but I did it!!

    Unlike Dan and Home Improvement people, I was on for basement, additions, and home building. Did try smaller tasks but, I hardly called back right away and probably should have, even with the bigger tasks. The % of leads that I won was roughly 1 out of 10. One month spending $1000.00 I might have gotten two basement remodels. From being on SM and HA, I actually landed a Home Build and that was a referral from a previous SM customer!!
    So HomeAdvisor does work but you have to go through the bogus, browsing, whim, false, NUMBERS, etc. I know that it is a pain, believe me! —

    I try other sources- Angieslist for example, the first year I was on the list, I received two jobs totaling $175,000 (2 additions). So I thought “why not pay $1800 to be on the top of the list” -nothing came of it that year! Weird!

    Thanks Dan for your help in this!

    Daniel

    • Dan Perry May 15, 2014

      Your welcome, Daniel. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  • AL b. May 25, 2014

    I too am a HA client. Could somebody please explain how I can get my business info from HA to My own. Such as changing their Phone # back to my number. I can’t believe they are actually using my information to direct internet calls back yo them and then charging me for that same lead! I would like to clean up my sites. Thanks for your help on this!

    Al B.

  • Donna W. May 30, 2014

    My husband runs a plumbing, heating, air conditioning business and we have been clients for quite some time, first with ServiceMagic and now HomeAdvisor. The problem we always saw, was that the same lead was sent to over a dozen contractors when we were told several times the same lead only went out to 2 or 3 contractors. I would call immediately the customer after receiving the fax. Approximately 9 out of 10 times, they would say they already found someone. And guess what? We still have to pay for that lead whether we get the job or not. Very disappointing, to say the least.

  • Amy Setlock June 26, 2014

    Thank you for this great article and comments.
    The business I work for was looking into using HA, however once learning all of the information you guys disclosed hopefully I can talk them out of it!

  • Mr. C. July 1, 2014

    Let this be a cautionary tale to those considering enrolling with Home Advisor as a service professional. This e-mail chain between me and E*** from HA is only hours old, and is indicative of the low character, nefarious goals, and underhanded tactics of this operation.

    I am the owner of a licensed and insured general contracting design/build firm in NC. I had been on the phone with HA after receiving an unsolicited phone call from them (first mistake). When asked where they got the company information they said the Chamber of Commerce, so I listened (second mistake). It sounded pretty good, so, over the next 4-5 months I would periodically take their calls but say that I was not quite ready. Then the rep that had been calling me was replaced by E***. In sales techniques this would be the ‘Closer’ coming on the scene. I let him pitch me for 35 minutes & thought it sounded pretty good, but still hesitated to enroll. Then he did a search at the Secretary of State and found that I had not filed my annual report for the LLC… Thanks! So I scooted down there and filed it. Voila! That was cool, and I thought, “Wow, they really do check out the potential enrollees. These guys might be the real thing. Hot leads here I come!”

    When I asked him to send me an enrollment package, he sent a link to the HA page. By law, they must publish the Terms & Conditions, and there they were. I read them to the letter. Not good. Then I came to this site and heard the comments. Case closed. Third mistake not made. Below is the exchange edited to protect the innocent, and the jerk from HA.

    Honestly, though, I’d love to print the name, but I really do not want any cyber trouble from this guy.
    _________________________________________________________
    **********, E***” wrote:

    Mr. C****,

    I need to set a 3 minute appointment with you today so that we can wrap up enrollment. We’re not going to handle any details, start talking about the clients, or anything else. Just finish enrollment. It takes three minutes. That’s it.

    Once that is finished, we can work with your schedule whenever you have time to go through details. But today, I have to finish enrollment with you. Details and adjustments can be made whenever you have time later. Call me ASAP.

    Best,

    E*** **********
    Phone: 913.529.**** | Online Marketing Consultant

    _________________________________________________________
    E***,

    Can do. I’ll give you a call in a bit.

    Thanks,

    **** C****
    ***** ***** Llc

    ——————————————————————————-
    From: “E*** **********”
    To: “Mr. C.”
    Sent: Monday, June 30, 2014 4:14:07 PM
    Subject: RE: Appointment

    Ok perfect. What time are you thinking?

    E*** ****

    Phone: 913.529.**** | Online Marketing Consultant |
    _____________________________________________________
    I didn’t call, instead, I penned this reply.
    _____________________________________________________
    From: **** C. ********/ ***** *****, LLC
    [mailto:*****************.com]
    Sent: Monday, June 30, 2014 5:08 PM
    To: **********, ****
    Cc: ************* C.
    Subject: No enrollment.

    E***,

    I’ve hit a major roadblock that prevents enrollment in Home Advisor, but I’m glad that I was able to dig this up prior to taking a step. Green Build Llc will not grant perpetual, irrevocable license to anyone at anytime, specifically Home Advisor.

    ***** ***** Llc, and/or **** C. , does not agree to license Home Advisor to use the corporate or personal identity in any way, at any time, for any reason.

    This excerpt from the Terms & Conditions is not acceptable:

    “Grant of License. You hereby grant HomeAdvisor and its users a perpetual, non-exclusive, royalty-free, transferable, assignable, sub-licensable, worldwide license to use, store, display, reproduce, modify, create derivative works, perform, distribute, print, publish, disseminate and place advertising near and adjacent to your Content in any format or media (whether now know or hereafter created) on the HomeAdvisor and apps in any manner that we deem appropriate or necessary, including, if submitted, your name, voice and likeness throughout the world, and such permission shall be perpetual and cannot be revoked for any reason.”

    Thanks,

    **** C.
    ***** ***** Llc

    ______________________________________________________

    John,

    Honestly that’s fine. At this point, I doubt you would be a good fit for us. But for arguments sake, what are you afraid will happen? We are an industry leader and subsidiary of a Fortune 500. Your concerned that we want to ADVERTISE YOUR USER GENRATED CONTENT (ratings and reviews, pictures, company information)? Are you aware of what we do?

    But we both know that isn’t the issue. Good luck John.

    E*** **********

    Phone: 913.529.**** | Online Marketing Consultant |
    ——————————————————————————-

    From: “**** C. /***** *****, LLC”
    To: “E*** **********”
    Sent: Tuesday, July 1, 2014 11:44:43 AM
    Subject: Re: No enrollment.

    E***,

    Yes, I’m aware of what you do: Home Advisor requires it’s enrollees to grant irrevocable, perpetual license to their business identity. The extent of that licensing agreement (or Terms & Conditions as you call it) is out of balance with the scope of the advertising and referral service. Looks to me like Home Advisor is collecting perpetual licensing agreements for it’s own purposes. I’m glad that I caught that before it was too late.

    Your oblique closing comment, “but we both know that is not the issue” is interesting… What is the issue ?

    **** C****
    ***** ***** Llc
    __________________________________________________________

    … and that is the end of the exchange so far, about 7 hours ago and no reply. I’m glad, too, because my initial thought when E*** wished me good luck was to reply, “Luck You, Too.”

    Pressure technique, then a switch to attack after being rebuffed… amateur and unprofessional. It was just like all the posts here said, only because I did not enroll was I spared the experience of paying them to snatch the corporate identity. E*** was not happy, his grammar and spelling fell apart and he printed IN ALL CAPS !!

    When E*** pivoted to “…not a fit for us…” it was right out of the HA playbook: just like the folks on this thread had been treated.

    So, thank you so much for all of your comments. They have been very helpful to me. Getting deep into the Terms & Conditions was the right thing to do, and for all of you that read the excerpt, go back and read the whole thing on the HA site. It is still in force after enrollment. The rest of the agreement is even more alarming. Note the part about the limited screening process on the Contractors; they don’t really even do the vetting process well. Check laws in your state, though, but HA has a pretty firm grip on you and will not be willing to let go. Thanks again to all that enrolled, got hosed, and posted warnings here.

    To those professionals that have yet to enroll with Home Advisor… RUN AWAY and don’t look back.

    Sincerely,

    Mr. C.

  • I think the “No home advisor for any reason” and “Home Advisor is the best thing ever” people are both wrong. It all depends. I happen to have a perfect experience with home advisor. It all depends on your busness goals, industry and other factors.

    -I happen to have a monopoly in my area for the service I provide. So I get only exact match and don’t have to worry about leads going to other providers. 25% of new clients of mine come from HA.

    I am not a “get a few customers and stop growing” type of business. So for my company its nice to keep getting leads every few days to increase my customer base. Also, durring my startup phase, it also helped allot, as it was as if my business was “turned on”. I got my first lead within a week of starting, and averaged 3-5 a week. (again results will vary by industry) I had 200 customers plus by the end of my first season in business. As my customer base increases I add more capacity.

    The problem in general with the home improvement/maintenance industry, is simply that most individuals are experts in what they do not experts in business. They don’t know to monitor return on investments and so on. I average $2.54 per customer acquired because of home advisor. This seems cheap considering my category charges $18 per lead. But I label my customers by HA lead or referral from HA lead. Although you might spend 18 or even 50 per lead directly, if your work speaks for itself, you can end up with free referrals from that lead. I had 36 customers (from a home owners association) from one single $18 dollar lead. They referred me to the president of the HOA. I think the moral more than just HA, is to have good metrics when assessing the return on investment with advertising efforts. If you make $50 per hour doing your work, and you spent 2 hours going door to door to get one customer, you spent about $100 in your labor getting one customer. Even at $50 per lead, you could have gotten 2 leads for the same capital effort. Just making up numbers to drive home the point that you either have to keep track of the const of all forms of advertising, both in dollars and in time, or hire someone to do that for you.

  • Nestor N. G. July 22, 2014

    Just what I was looking for. Definitely everyone will have different levels of success and failure, but with the information that you provided we have better understanding of what to expect. Great tips to Maximize ROI

  • Action 1 Restoration December 17, 2014

    If you are looking for leads to purchase, one of the best areas is to find a vendor that will offer exclusive leads. You will pay more for your leads as they are exclusive and they will usually be phone call leads vs lead for leads, but they are well worth the higher cost if you are willing to pay for them. There are company’s that charge double Home Advisor’s cost per lead, but since they are phone call leads and exclusive leads, your conversion will be much higher. Also, generally these company’s will not touch your brand name either, which protects your own leads coming into your company. This is just something to think about as a good way to get more leads.. I hope that helps.

  • Tom January 20, 2015

    I’ve used Home Advisor in the past and most here are correct, that they sell leads to multiple clients or you have to pay more to be exclusive. I’ve signed up with a smaller company – MyProHome, which so far has been great, except they limit the amount of leads you get due to quality. So far, I’ve been able to see each lead before purchasing and they can be quite cheap. A basic roofing lead I purchased was only $10. I would recommend finding the competition like MyProHome as the bigger companies appear to sell leads to just about anyone! Happy building, Tom.

  • roi exp July 8, 2015

    To get ha to remove their # on your listings, call and get syndicated exact match removed. There are different settings for exact match

  • Gabe July 14, 2015

    What I really find intriguing, is that customers are not even aware of the exact match. Homeadvisor matches me up with customers, that are unaware of exact match. To me its another excuse to charge 20.55 It can be effective, for example, I’ll get a call from HomeAdvisor agent stating, that Mr. Or Mrs. X wants to speak with you. All along the customer doesn’t realize HA is matching them with me. They simply just want to speak with me, which is good, but for HA to say they are an “exact match”, is insane! It’s like when you meet someone on a date, we cant assume wedding bells in the future!! I wont lie it does have it goods too. It just needs to be tweaked. If peopke are just shopping maybe homeadvisor should have a section for “price shopping” and charge a small fee or something, I would pay the small fee for price shopping. Niw if they are ready to hire then thats different. Im just tired of paying for leads that: Dont answer their phone, thst after 5 or 10 calls they finally pick up and say they hired someone else or are not interested. There has to be a better way. There’s been weeks where I make good money. And thats HA MO, they’ll tell you on the phone you gave to yake the good with the bad. If your Coca Cola or AT&T they can afford a loss. We small companies can’t ALWAYS afford it! Does HA give a s**t, most likely not.

  • Keith Simmonds July 19, 2015

    I am a flooring contractor and was disturbed to find Papa’s flooring in my city (and yours).
    Papa’s flooring sneakily extract clients details and pass them to Home Advisor, and HomeYou. Without informing the client that a subcontractor will call, and without telling the flooring contractor that the lead was generated on Papa’s flooring website.
    http://www.papasflooring.com/
    http://www.papasflooring.com/Flooring/illinois-flooring-services/flooring-il/
    http://www.papasflooring.com/Flooring/yourstate-flooring-services/flooring-ys/
    try subsituting your state and 2 letter code into the address above.

    Also papas drywall repair
    http://drywall-repair-concord-california.blogspot.com/2011/07/drywall-repair-concord-ca-r-drywall.html

  • Raymond August 26, 2015

    Home Advisor charges $20 to $30 PER LEAD, which leads are already serviced by other businesses or given to every competitor in the area. DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME!

Speak Your Mind